NPTCLibGuides: Research Skills: 06 Useful resources

Useful Resources

A visit to the library, either in person or to our online library, should be top of your list when undertaking any research. Take time to explore all the resources freely available to you.

Library staff are available to assist you with all your information queries. We can help you navigate online resources, find the correct books and journals, assist you with searching techniques, referencing and finding the right information for your assignment.

Remember, when using resources for research, always evaluate the quality of the information you find using criteria such as the CRAAP test. For advice and information about how to evaluate information, visit our Research Skills course on Moodle.

Online Library A collection of resources giving you access to up-to-date online articles, e-books and other e-resources.
Research Skills Developing good research skills will allow you to find information and use it effectively. Research skills include methods to create a search strategy to gather information and reach conclusions so that you can answer a question. This help page will guide you through the research process.

Journals

undefined Journals are academic magazines published at periodical times through the year. We subscribe to a wide range of journals and periodicals in electronic and print formats. They are important resources because they are:

published on a regular basis
contain up to date scholarly research
concise and more specific than books

You can find academic journals via the Journals, articles and news section on the library moodle page.

Useful Websites

We've provided some links to further websites that you may find useful for your project:

European Environment Agency Provides independent information on the environment
IMF eLibrary Access to global economic content published by the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Includes the IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies.
IPCC The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change is the United Nations body for assessing the science related to climate change.
Ipsos MORI Leading UK research company specialising in researching advertising, loyalty (customer and employee relationship management); marketing, mediaCT (media and technology), social & political research and reputation research.
London School of Economics British politics and policy blog by the LSE
NASA - Climate Change Current news, data streams and images about global warming and climate change
NatCen Leading UK research company specialising in researching advertising, loyalty (customer and employee relationship management); marketing, mediaCT (media and technology), social & political research and reputation research.
NOMIS Nomis is a service provided by the Office for National Statistics, ONS, to give you free access to the most detailed and up-to-date UK labour market statistics from official sources.
OECD Data, policy advice and research on a range of social, economic and environmental challenges
Senedd Wales The Welsh Parliament
Sustainable Food Trust A global voice for sustainable food systems
TedEd Series Selection of talks and animations on a variety of topics
Ted Talks - Topics TED Talks are influential videos and podcasts from expert speakers on education, business, science, tech and creativity.
The Trussell Trust Organisation working to stop UK hunger and poverty
Welsh Government Welsh Government services and information
WHO: World Health Organisation International Agency directing and coordinating global health within the United Nations system.
World Economic Forum It's mission is stated as' committed to improving the state of the world by engaging business, political , academic , and other leaders of society, to help shape global, regional and industry agendas.
UN-Water United Nations -It coordinates the efforts of Un entities and international organisations working on water and sanitation issues
UNICEF Charity working towards providing a better world for evrry child.
UNdata Single entry point for United Nations statistical databases.

Quick links

A - Z databases Find the best library databases for your research.
Artificial Intelligence: guidance for students How to use AI tools responsibly and ethically in your assessments and college work.
BoB: Box of Broadcasts BoB is an off-air recording and media archive which stores recorded TV and Radio programmes from over 70 channels.
Look4: Library search Search the library catalogue for books, e-books, and other resources.
Microsoft 365 Link to your Microsoft 365 account for your college email, OneDrive, Word, Excel and PowerPoint. Log in using your student username@nptcgroup.ac.uk and college password.
Moodle
Online Library A collection of resources giving you access to up-to-date online articles, e-books and other e-resources.
Referencing NPTC Guide to Referencing
Research Skills Developing good research skills will allow you to find information and use it effectively. Research skills include methods to create a search strategy to gather information and reach conclusions so that you can answer a question. This help page will guide you through the research process.

Fact & Bias Checking Sites

Full Fact.org A UK based fact checking site
BBC Reality Check
Snopes.com Fact checking site

Google Scholar

A simple way to search for academic articles and books. A search in Google Scholar will take you straight to material from academic publishers and professional societies.

Help is just a click away

Have a question about research skills?

Use our Ask a Librarian service or email us: libraries@nptcgroup.ac.uk

Research Skills: 06 Useful resources