NPTCLibGuides: Hairdressing &amp; Applied Therapies: Journals, articles and news

Key Journals

Vogue Archive
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

Key Databases

Issues Online
Perfect for tutorial and WBQ projects. This is a top source of information on contemporary social issues. The content is up to date and completely reliable. Over 60 topics covered in subjects such as crime and disorder, health matters, the environment, drug abuse, the family and relationships, rights and discrimination, and more. Includes articles, statistics and study guides.
Credo Reference
Background information and a great place to start your research with access to the world's best citable information, wherever you are. Easy access to trusted content from over 70 of the world's leading academic publishers.
Fast research of facts and figures or browse through hundreds of topic pages, ready to go with the information you need.

Trade Magazines

Hairdresser's Journal
The trade journal that has no need to trim any content, Hairdressers Journal is the leading monthly magazine devoted to the hairdressing industry. This long established magazine has been covering the latest news and developments from the world of hairdressing for 125 years.
The Salon Magazine
Reflecting the needs of today’s best hair and beauty business trailblazers, The Salon Magazine reaches over 33,000 key decision makers every month with the inside story on the latest products, trends and treatments.
Professional Beauty
The best news, features, products and opinions from the world of beauty, spa, nails and aesthetics.
Spa Magazine
THE NO.1 BUSINESS MAGAZINE FOR SPA & WELLNESS PROFESSIONALS: European Spa is a beautifully designed, intelligent business magazine for the global spa industry. Their inspirational coverage reflects key areas of spa development including: spa design, beauty and menu launches, retailing, holistic treatments, equipment innovations and the latest management and operational expertise.

Newspapers

Newspapers can be a good source of information for the latest developments of an event and for current opinion on controversial topics. They also provide insight into public opinion and the national mood at the time of historic events.

We have online access to a number of current and archive newspapers.

Gale Onefile: News
Access to all major U.K., U.S. and international newspapers. Search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or keyword.
Gale NewsVault
Search the historical archives of The Times, The Financial Times, The Independent, and The Economist. Explore over 400 years of content and over 10 million pages of articles.